The Professional Horsemen's Association of America, Inc.

Home / Purpose / Membership / Current Officers / Past Officers / Chapters / News/Minutes / Links/ Junior Riders

Professional Horsemen's Association of America Honors
Naomi Blumenthal with Frank J. Hawkins Award
IHSA Stalwart Joins Eminent List including Emerson Burr, 'Honey' Craven


Fairfield, CT (December 4, 2014) “We are lucky to have someone of such ability and talent volunteer her time with our organization,” said Frederick F. Schauder, of Greenwich, CT and president of The Professional Horsemen's Association of America, Inc. (PHA), of Naomi Blumenthal, of Manlius, NY, whose volunteerism includes serving as PHA vice president and an IHSA national director, and who was honored during the National PHA Directors Meeting on November 29 with the 2014 Frank J. Hawkins Award.

The Frank J. Hawkins Award, instated by sons and fellow horsemen, Artie and Steve Hawkins in memory of their father, Bedford, NY horseman and five-time PHA national president, Frank J. Hawkins, has been presented annually since 1992 to recognize the valued contributions and dedication of PHA members. Blumenthal joins 2013 recipient Lynn Peters and such eminent former awardees as Emerson Burr and 'Honey' Craven.

“This year we ran our first show to benefit the national association. Naomi wrote the entire Prize List. She gave so much of her time and skills to assure its success,” Schauder explained, referring to the First Annual PHA Invitational, held October 24-26 in Far Hills, NJ, at Centenary College, home of the reigning Collegiate Cup champions, and with Gold title and presenting sponsorship support of IHSA.

Longtime friends and organizational cornerstones Bob Cacchione, Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) founder and executive director, and Peter Cashman, IHSA 1st vice president and US Military Academy equestrian team coach, were on hand as Blumenthal's dedication to her fellow horsemen was recognized.

“What a great relationship Bob and Naomi share from working together since the beginning of the IHSA. We thought he was the perfect person to invite when we presented the award. Both organizations have benefited from having her among its members,” Schauder said.

Naomi Blumenthal competed as a junior in hunter, jumper and hunt seat equitation divisions and continued to compete in amateur-owner hunter and jumper divisions until show management opportunities convinced her to refocus her interests. Her nearly four-decade career includes working with numerous breed associations and disciplines, and managing shows for (among others) the New York State Fair, NYS Horse Breeders Association and Syracuse (NY) PHA. Sitting for two decades on the Cazenovia College faculty, she was intrinsic to the development of its Equine Studies program and coached its Varsity Riding Team. Her student riders include IHSA individual national and reserve champions and, in 1999, IHSA recognized her with its own Lifetime Achievement Award for three decades of dedication as an IHSA director, Zone chair, regional president, Membership Committee chair and member of IHSA National Championships, rules and finance committees.

“Peter and I were both very proud of her that evening,” said Cacchione, “and we are always proud to serve with her in the IHSA.”

The Professional Horsemen's Association of America, Inc., otherwise known as the PHA, is a self-contained benevolent organization founded in Watertown, CT in 1936. As of 2014, PHA has 15 chapters in the U.S. serving more than 900 professional members. The purpose of PHA is to give aid and sustenance to needy horsemen; provide financial assistance for continuing education to children of professional members through a scholarship fund; and promote and foster interest in the horse industry, and the care and protection of horses through education at local, state and federal levels. Learn more at

IHSA promotes competition for riders of all skill levels, who compete individually and as teams at regional and national levels, based on the principle that any college student should be able to participate in horse shows regardless of his or her financial status or riding level. Learn more about its teams and scholarships at

Frank J. Hawkins Award Winners

1992 Irving 'Zeke' Matt

1993 Alex Forman

1994 'Honey' Craven

1995 Ray Moloney

1996 Marie LaFrenz

1997 Emerson Burr

1998 Howard Lewis

1999 George Patterson

2000 Ray Francis

2001 Jack Frohm

2002 Helen Bilby

2003 Jerry Raucher

2004 Hedda W. von Goeben

2005 Cosi Napolitano

2006 Mary Jane Mitchell

2007 Anne Grenci

2008 Judy Richter

2009 Carol Moloney

2010 Rich Scarlett

2011 Norman Bray

2012 Frederick F. Schauder

2013 Lynn Peters

2014 Naomi Blumenthal